Call for Applications: Young African Leaders Initiative 2020


Deadline: 1 May 2020


The Young African Leaders Initiative (YALI) is a signature effort to invest in the next generation of African leaders. The need to invest in grooming strong, results-oriented leaders comes out of the statistics: nearly 1 in 3 Africans are between the ages of 10 and 24, and approximately 60% of Africa’s total population is below the age of 35.


  • Create critical thinkers.
  • Solve complex and multidisciplinary problems.
  • Foster entrepreneurial thinking.
  • Innovative use of information, knowledge, and opportunities.
  • Encourage communication and multicultural collaboration.
  • Create awareness of contemporary African issues.


  • A proven record of leadership in public service, business, and entrepreneurship, or civic engagement. They can be new entrants in public and private service institutions looking to develop their leadership abilities.
  • Proven record of knowledge, interest, and professional experience in the sector/track selected.
  • Proven record of active engagement in public or community service, volunteerism, or mentorship.
  • Selected participants applying for the contact session must be willing to travel to the RLC SA in Midrand, Johannesburg or Maputo for the duration of the program.
  • A commitment to apply leadership skills and training to benefit your country and/or community after the program.


  • Age (18-35)
  • English language proficiency.
  • Portuguese speaking participants will be accommodated in the Mozambique Hub at UEM.
  • A commitment to positively impact Africa, their own countries as well as communities.
  • Demonstrated leadership capabilities and interest in Public Management, Entrepreneurship Development and Civic Leadership
  • Commitment to serve the development agenda of the African continent.

Young leaders from the following countries are eligible to participate in the Young African Leaders Initiative program: Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Lesotho, Malawi, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Kingdom of Eswatini, Zambia and Zimbabwe

For more information website