Call for Applications: Spring School LiSeH 2020 in Austria


Deadline: 29 February 2020

Open to: 25 students and scholars of all academic stages

Venue: Graz, Austria, April 14-17, 2020

Linked Data & the Semantic Web for Humanities Research

The spring school is co-organized by the Austrian Centre for Digital Humanities and Cultural Heritage at the Austrian Academy of Sciences and the Centre for Information Modelling – Austrian Centre for Digital Humanities at the University of Graz and is funded by CLARIAH-AT and supported by the H2020 project ELEXIS.

The school will give an introduction to the concepts related to the Semantic Web and Linked Data and will give an overview of semantic web technologies and tools with a special focus on application scenarios in the Humanities

  • Identifying standards and technologies
  • RDF and triples
  • Semantic querying: SPARQL and triple stores
  • Linked data curation
  • Knowledge Representation and Ontologies
  • Linked Data in Linguistics
  • Modelling cultural heritage data


Participation is free of charge and open to 25 students and scholars of all academic stages. No previous specific skills are required (although basic digital knowledge would be useful).
To apply, we ask you to use the application form and provide a brief motivational note why you would like to attend the spring school (250 words)


Also consider submitting an abstract to the poster session.

If you would like to present your project, research or idea in the poster session, please include a short abstract of max. 250 words in your application.

We reserve the right to choose the individual participants as well as the reimbursement grantees based on their research/study interests and motivation. 

Acceptance will be communicated by March 11.


Reimbursement of up to EUR 400.- will be awarded to 3 participants who apply for it in the registration form and are accepted to give a presentation during the poster session. Reimbursement guidelines will be provided after acceptance. 


Please contact


Organizing committee:
Christopher Pollin  (University of Graz)
Gerlinde Schneider (Austrian Academy of Sciences)
Tanja Wissik (Austrian Academy of Sciences)

Source: click