UNESCO/Emir Jaber Al Ahmad Al Jaber Al Sabah Prize

Deadline:  30 September 2018
Open to: individuals and organizations
Award: USD $ 40,000


The UNESCO/Emir Jaber Al Ahmad Al Jaber Al Sabah Prize for Digital Empowerment of Persons with Disabilities (hereafter the Prize) is to recognize the outstanding contributions of individuals and organizations in promoting the inclusion; and enhancing the lives of persons with disabilities through the application of digital solutions, resources and technologies.

In line with UNESCO’s strategic objectives and especially the Major Programme Communication and Information, this includes translating human rights and fundamental freedoms into action, with a particular emphasis on removing barriers to enable greater access to information and knowledge, as well as learning and participation in society through the effective application of Information and Communication Technologies (ICTs).

The Prize has also direct thematic linkages to other UNESCO’s Major Programmes.


  • Eligible applicants are individuals (applying either individually, or representing a group of people) or organizations (an institution, non-governmental organization or other public or private entity).
  • Individuals and organizations applying for the Prize must have been active in the field for a minimum of five years, and have proven results from their efforts and activities.
  • All applications must be submitted in the English or French languages and on the application form specified. The preferred mode of submission is electronically, but if this is not possible then postal applications and nominations are also acceptable.


The Prize will be offered biennially in 2018/2019 and 2020/2021. The Prize will be awarded in each biennial edition and will be divided equally to:

  • An Individual Person; and
  • An Organization.

These awards are for individuals and organizations and are not for projects or programmes. Successful individuals and organizations will usually have undertaken a series of relevant projects and programmes, developed appropriate tools or resources, and enhanced co-operation and partnerships that will contribute to their achievements, but it is the overall personal or organizational contribution that will be assessed.

The total amount available for the Prize biennially is USD $ 40,000, which will be distributed equally between the individual and the organizational winner.

UNESCO will publicize the Prize winners, and will seek to work with them to enhance and promote their continued activities in the field of the digital empowerment of persons with disabilities.

Prize winners (Laureates) will be selected by the Director-General of UNESCO on the basis of the assessments and recommendations made by a Jury.
All processes relating to the administration of the Prize will adhere to UNESCO’s Statutes for the Prize.


n order to participate, all applications must be endorsed by the Government of a Member State in consultation with its National Commission for UNESCO. The relevant non-governmental organizations maintaining official partnerships with UNESCO could also endorse applications. Therefore, Member States need to submit a written recommendation in support of the candidate’s project. Self-endorsements cannot be considered.

Below, a brief information required for the completion of the template:

  • a description of the candidate’s background and achievements;
  • a summary of the work or the results of the work, publications and other supporting documents of major importance, submitted for consideration;
  • a definition of the candidate’s contribution to the Prize’s objectives.

In order to apply, register HERE.

If you have any questions, check the Application Guidelines or write to:  ict-pwd@unesco.org.

The official web-page.